Union Resources

William A. Lee Memorial Scholarship

Each year, the Chicago Federation of Labor awards 10 William A. Lee Memorial Scholarships to high school seniors, five to the winners of the Academic Competition and five to the winners of the Random Drawing. The scholarships, valued at $2,000 each, may be used at any accredited college or university in the United States.

2020 Winners

Congratulations to our 2020 William A. Lee Memorial Scholarship winners!

  • Sophie Doyle, Plumbers’ Local 130 UA

  • Samuel Barron, AFGE Local 648
  • Declan Fitzpatrick, IAFF Local 2
  • Anjini Grover, IFT-AFT Local 1274
  • Emma Katovich, IFT-AFT Local 1211
  • Mia McDermott, IAFF Local 2
  • Ellison McGovern, Laborers’ Local 4
  • Rachel Monahan, UFCW Local 881
  • Camryn Sexton, Carpenters Local 13
  • Destiny Wohlers-Newell, Carpenters Local 1185


Please check back in late 2020 for application information information for 2021 William A. Lee Memorial Scholarships. 




Since 1991, the Union Plus Scholarship Program has awarded more than $4.3 million to students of working families who want to begin or continue their post-secondary education.

Click here for more information about the Union Plus Scholarship