Press Releases
November 12, 2009
Contact: Nick Kaleba

Chicago Federation of Labor endorses pro-labor candidates in 2010 Primary Election

Remains neutral in Cook County Board President race, holds decision on Commissioners until after important budget vote

Chicago, IL —

The Chicago area’s largest labor organization today endorsed candidates in the upcoming February 2 Primary Election for Cook County offices and in the judiciary.

The Chicago Federation of Labor (CFL) made no endorsement for County Board President in a field that includes several candidates who have strong records of standing up for working men and women.  Dorothy Brown, Terrence O’Brien, Toni Preckwinkle and Todd Stroger all sought the endorsement of the CFL.

The CFL postponed making any endorsements for Cook County Board of Commissioners until after an important budget vote tentatively scheduled for next Monday.  The vote would be whether to repeal a portion of the county sales tax creating a budget deficit that would harm county services and the frontline workers who provide them. 

“It would be premature for the Chicago Federation of Labor to endorse candidates for the county board with this measure looming overhead,” said CFL President Dennis Gannon.  “The county budget is about vital services and the frontline workers who provide them to residents. We cannot endorse individuals who plan to balance the budget by slashing services and laying off men and women for political gain during an election year.”

The CFL will consider Monday’s vote as part of the Commissioners’ complete record on issues that affect working families.  One of those issues includes a vote to ban regulated video gaming in unincorporated Cook County at the expense of Illinois’ first capital bill in ten years.  Revenue from video gaming machines makes up approximately-one third of the funding for the Illinois Jobs Now plan that would create hundreds of thousands of jobs over the next several years improving the state’s infrastructure.

 “Working families in Cook County deserve an advocate who will stand up for job creation and fairness in the workplace,” said Gannon.  “With jobs scarce and people facing financial disaster, they need it now more than ever.  That is what the CFL and our affiliated unions will do in this election.  We’re motivated to make a difference on February 2 for candidates who stand up for working people.”

The Chicago Federation of Labor is the central labor body covering Chicago and Cook County.  The CFL has 300 affiliated labor unions comprised of approximately half a million union members. The endorsements were decided by the CFL Committee on Political Education, with delegates from all affiliated unions.


February 2 Primary Election Endorsements


Cook County Board President

No Endorsement

Cook County Commissioner

Endorsements on hold

Cook County Clerk

David D. Orr (D)

Cook County Treasurer

Maria Pappas (D)

Cook County Sheriff

Thomas J. Dart (D)

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District Commissioner

Michael A. Alvarez (D)

Mariyana T. Spyropolous (D)

Barbara McGowan (D)

Board of Review 1st District

Brendan F. Houlihan (D)

Cook County Assessor

Joseph Berrios (D)


1st Appellate – McNulty Vacancy

Jim Ryan

1st Appellate – O’Malley Vacancy

Thomas L. Hogan

1st Appellate – South Vacancy

Mary Katherine Rochford

Cook Circuit – Berland Vacancy

William H. Hooks

Cook Circuit – Bronstein Vacancy

Terry MacCarthy

Cook Circuit – Dolan Vacancy

Linda J. Pauel

Cook Circuit – Hayes Vacancy

Raymond W. Mitchell

Cook Circuit – Kelley Vacancy

John Patrick Callahan, Jr.

Cook Circuit – O’Malley Vacancy

Thomas V. Lyons

Cook Circuit – Riley Vacancy

James Michael Bailey

Cook Circuit – 1st Subcircuit – Coleman Vacancy

Thaddeus L. Wilson

Cook Circuit – 1st Subcircuit – Steele Vacancy

Michelle Hugghis Flagg

Cook Circuit – 1st Subcircuit – A Vacancy

No Endorsement

Cook Circuit – 3rd Subcircuit – Carmody, Jr. Vacancy

Allen F. Murphy

Cook Circuit – 3rd Subcircuit – Darcy Vacancy

Edward Harmening

Cook Circuit – 3rd Subcircuit – A Vacancy

Daniel Malone

Cook Circuit – 9th Subcircuit – Otaka Vacancy

Abbey Fishman Romanek

Cook Circuit –9th Subcircuit – A Vacancy

Michael Ian Bender

Cook Circuit – 11th Subcircuit – Riley Vacancy

Steven J. Fruth

Cook Circuit – 14th Subcircuit – A Vacancy

Daniel James Pierce

Cook Circuit – 15th Subcircuit – Lipinski Vacancy

Linzey D. Jones

Cook Circuit – 15th Subcircuit – Panichi Vacancy

George F. Scully

Cook Circuit – 15th Subcircuit – Phelan Vacancy

John C. Griffin