Press Releases
April 03, 2014

Chicago Federation of Labor Announces the 2014 William A. Lee Scholarship Winners

The Chicago Federation of Labor is pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 William A. Lee Scholarship. Ten graduating high school seniors were selected in two categories, random draw and an academic competition, to win a $2,000 scholarship.

The students or their parents belong to local unions affiliated with the Chicago Federation of Labor.

Academic Competition:

  • Patrick Andrade – Chicago Fire Fighters Local 2
  • Carolyn Kelly – AFA-CWA Local Council #8
  • Dyllan Mattea – Iron Workers Local 1
  • Sophia Alice Svoboda – Chicago Teachers Union
  • Amanda Wendt – Sprinkler Fitters Local 281
Random Drawing:
  • Kiara Butler – AFT Local 604
  • Katie Dieckman – IUOE Local 150
  • Liam Hamp – Chicago Fire Fighters Local 2
  • Marcus Razor – Teamsters Local 743
  • Kelli Zickert – Northwest Suburban Teacher Local 1211

These awards are a memorial to William A. Lee, who served as President of the Chicago Federation of Labor for 38 years. Mr. Lee devoted over 60 years to the cause of labor and civic and community service.