CFL News
June 21, 2019

Chicago Elects New Mayor, Treasurer, City Council

Chicago Elects New Mayor, Treasurer, City Council

Chicagoans made history on April 2, 2019 in electing Lori Lightfoot as the first black woman and openly LGBTQ mayor of Chicago. Lightfoot captured 74 percent of the vote, and her victory ensured that Chicago and Cook County will be run by two strong black women, with Toni Preckwinkle remaining as President of the Cook County Board of Commissioners.

CFL President Bob Reiter called the election “a remarkable moment in the history of our great city” and offered congratulations to Mayor-elect Lightfoot “on her momentous election, becoming the first black woman and first openly LGBTQ mayor of the City of Chicago.” Reiter said, “Mayor-elect Lightfoot’s platform included a strong vision for the future of our city, and we are eager to get to work with her to improve the lives of working families — from Rogers Park to Roseland and everywhere in between.”

Reiter also congratulated Toni Preckwinkle on a hard-fought campaign, saying, “We also look forward to continuing to work with our friend and ally Toni Preckwinkle. A stalwart supporter of working people, President Preckwinkle has fought to protect the health and safety of the people of Cook County while never shying away from tough political battles.”

The other runoff elections held on April 2 were for 15 aldermanic seats and the City Treasurer. Many CFL-endorsed candidates won their runoff elections, including Melissa Conyears-Ervin for City Treasurer, Leslie Hairston (5th), Roderick Sawyer (6th), Raymond Lopez (15th), Jeanette Taylor (20th), Howard Brookins (21st), Ariel Reboyras (30th), Felix Cardona (31st), Samantha Nugent (39th) and James Cappelman (46th) for Alderman. Across suburban Cook County, over 20 CFL-endorsed candidates were elected into seats ranging from library and school board to village Mayor and Trustee.

The coming months will be subject to much change at the City Council, as new aldermen are ushered in and committees change hands. The CFL welcomed the new aldermen into their positions and look forward to working with them on behalf of working men and women in Chicago. Those twelve new aldermen include: Daniel La Spata (1st), Stephanie Coleman (16th), Jeanette Taylor (20th), Mike Rodriguez (22nd), Byron Sigcho-Lopez (25th), Felix Cardona, Jr. (31st), Rossana Rodriguez Sanchez (33rd), Samantha Nugent (39th), Andre Vasquez (40th), Jim Gardiner (45th), Matt Martin (47th), and Maria Hadden (49th).

 The CFL thanked union members across Cook County who mobilized to elect new leaders that embody the values of the labor movement.