CFL News
April 08, 2013

Carol James named 2013 CFL Woman of the Year

The Chicago Federation of Labor presented Carol James, Laborers' Local 1092, with it's Woman of the Year award at the April delegates meeting

Carol James, the recently retired President of Laborers' Local 1092, was presented with the Chicago Federation of Labor's Woman of the Year Award for 2013 at the April delegates meeting. 

"Carol James is the type of person every labor leader should aspire to be," said President Jorge Ramriez. "Her organization and the labor movement are better off thanks to her service and we congratulate her on her well-deserved retirement."

James began working full time for the union after graduating from Lewis University where she received a Bachelor's degree in Social Justice. Over the years she rose through the ranks of Local 1092, the union representing public sector construction Laborers employed by the City of Chicago, serving in elected positions of Secretary-Treasurer, Business Manager and President. She was the first female Business Manager of the Laborers' Great Lakes Region. She served on the steering committee of the Laborers' International Minority Affairs Department and was elected Chair of the union's Women's Caucus.

James thanked all of her colleagues and mentors from the Laborers' for showing her how to be a good leader. "I didn't do anything special to deserve this honor," she said. "I only did what I loved to do."

Past Woman of the Year Award Recipients:

1982 Joyce Miller Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers

1983 Addie Wyatt United Food & Commercial Workers

1984 Clara Day International Brotherhood of Teamsters

1985 Jacqueline Vaughn Chicago Teachers Union, AFT #1

1986 Gwendolyn R. Martin Communications Workers of America

1987 Mollie L. West Chicago Typographical Union

1988 LaVerne Hawes Communication Workers of America

1989 Johnnie Jackson International Ladies Garment Workers Union

1990 Rosetta Daylie AFSCME

1991 Helen Ramirez Chicago Teachers Union, AFT #1

1992 Katie Jordan Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union

1993 Elena Marcheschi United Scenic Artists, Painters Union

1994 Margaret Blackshere Illinois AFL-CIO

1995 Jerre McPartlin Hotel and Restaurant Employees, Local 1

1996 Linda Chavez-Thompson AFL-CIO

1997 Jane Fitzgerald AFSCME

1998 Geri Shelton International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

1999 Cynthia Rodriguez Service Employees International Union

2000 Kina McAfee Chicago & Northeast IL District Council of Carpenters

2001 Norma White Chicago Teachers Union, AFT #1

2002 Lynn Talbott UNITE

2003 Mary Crayton AFL-CIO Region 1

2004 Deborah Lynch Chicago Teachers Union, AFT #1

2005 Ann Frison CFL, AFL-CIO Community Services

2006 Eileen Willenborg AFTRA/SAG

2007 Esther Lopez United Food & Commercial Workers

2008 Marilyn Stewart Chicago Teachers Union, AFT #1

2009 Terryl Jares Chicago Federation of Musicians Local 10-208

2010 Dorothy James AFGE District 7

2011 Margarita Klein Workers United, Chicago Midwest Regional Joint Board

2012 Patricia Ousley AFSCME Local 1006

2013 Carol James Laborers’ International Union of North America Local 1092